Call for Papers

The 12th International Symposium on Software Engineering for Adaptive and Self-Managing Systems (SEAMS 2017), Buenos Aires, Argentina, May 22-23

Collocated with the 39th International Conference on Software Engineering (ICSE 2017)

Submission Deadline: 13 January 2017 (AoE, Firm)

Abstract Submission: 6 Jan, 2017 (AoE, firm)
Paper Submission: 13 Jan, 2017 (AoE, firm)
Notification: 21 Feb, 2017
Camera Ready: 6 Mar, 2017

Self-adaptation and self-management are key objectives in many modern and emerging software systems, including the industrial internet of things, cyber-physical systems, cloud computing, and mobile computing. These systems must be able to adapt themselves at run time to preserve and optimize their operation in the presence of uncertain changes in their operating environment, resource variability, new user needs, attacks, intrusions, and faults.

Approaches to complement software-based systems with self-managing and self-adaptive capabilities are an important area of research and development, offering solutions that leverage advances in fields such as software architecture, fault-tolerant computing, programming languages, robotics, and run-time program analysis and verification. Additionally, research in this field is informed by related areas like biologically-inspired computing, artificial intelligence, machine learning, control systems, and agent-based systems. The SEAMS symposium focuses on applying software engineering to these approaches, including methods, techniques, and tools that can be used to support self-* properties like self-adaptation, self-management, self-healing, self-optimization, and self-configuration.

The objective of SEAMS is to bring together researchers and practitioners from diverse areas to investigate, discuss, and examine the fundamental principles, state of the art, and critical challenges of engineering self-adaptive and self-managing systems.

Topics of Interest: 
All topics related to engineering self-adaptive and self-managing systems, including:

Foundational Concepts
• self-* properties
• control theory
• algorithms 
• decision-making and planning
• managing uncertainty
• mixed-initiative and human-in-the-loop systems

• formal notations for modeling and analyzing self-* properties
• programming language support for self-adaptation

Constructive methods
• requirements elicitation techniques
• reuse support (e.g., patterns, designs, code)
• architectural techniques
• legacy systems

Analytical Methods for Self-Adaptation and -Management
• evaluation and assurance
• verification and validation 
• analysis and testing frameworks

Application Areas
• Industrial internet of things
• Cyber-physical systems
• Cloud computing
• Mobile computing
• Robotics
• Smart user interfaces
• Security and privacy
• Wearables and ubiquitous/pervasive systems

Artifacts* and Evaluations
• model problems and exemplars
• resources, metrics, or software that can be used to compare self-adaptive approaches
• experiences in applying tools to real problems

* There will be a specific session to be dedicated to artifacts that may be useful for the community as a whole.

Paper Submission Details

SEAMS solicits three types of papers: 

- Long papers (10 pages for the main text, inclusive of figures, tables, appendices, etc.; references may be included on up to two additional pages). Long papers should clearly describe innovative and original research or explain how existing techniques have been applied to real-world examples. 

- Short papers (6 pages + 1 reference). Short papers should describe novel and promising ideas and/or techniques that are in an early stage of development.

- Artifact papers (6 pages + 1 reference). Artifact papers must describe why and how the accompanying artifact may be useful for the broader community. Please see for more details.

All submitted papers and artifacts will be reviewed by at least three program committee members. Papers must not have been previously published or concurrently submitted elsewhere. Papers must conform to IEEE formatting guidelines (see ICSE 2017 style guidelines), and submitted via EasyChair.
 Accepted papers will appear in the symposium proceedings that will be published in the ACM and IEEE digital libraries. The official publication date of an accepted paper will be the date the proceedings are made available in the ACM Digital Library. This date may be up to two weeks prior to the first day of ICSE2017. The official publication date affects the deadline for any patent filings related to published work. Purchases of additional pages in the proceedings is not allowed.

Selected papers will be invited to submit to the ACM Transactions on Autonomous and Adaptive Systems (TAAS). Accepted artifact papers will also be archived on the Dagstuhl Artifacts Series (DARTS).

Follow SEAMS2017: 

Nelly Bencomo, UK
Gregor Engels, Germany
Rogério de Lemos, UK
David Garlan, USA
Carlo Ghezzi, Italy
Paola Inverardi, Italy
Marin Litoiu (Chair), Canada
Sam Malek, USA
Hausi A. Müller, Canada
John Mylopoulos, Italy
Bashar Nuseibeh, UK & Ireland
Bradley Schmerl, USA

General Chair: David Garlan, Carnegie Mellon University 
Program Chair: Bashar Nuseibeh, The Open University and Lero 
Artifact Chair: Javier Cámara, Carnegie Mellon University
Publicity Chair: Pooyan Jamshidi, Imperial College London 
Local Chair: Nicolás D’Ippolito, Universidad de Buenos Aires 

Dalal Al Rajah, UK
Jesper Andersson, Sweden
Rami Bahsoon, UK
Arosha Bandara, UK
Luciano Baresi, Italy
Jacob Beal, USA
Nelly Bencomo, UK
Amel, Bennaceur, UK
Victor Braberman, Argentina
Tomas Bures, Czech Republic
Radu Calinescu, UK
Javier Camara, USA
Betty Cheng, USA
Siobhán Clarke, Ireland
Rogério de Lemos, UK
Elisabetta di Nitto, Italy
Nicolás D’Ippolito, Argentina
Ada Diaconescu, France
Gregor Engels, Germany
Antonio Filieri, UK
Erik Fredericks, USA
Holger Giese, Germany
Hassan Gomaa, USA
Joel Greenyer, Germany
Mark Harman, UK
Valerie Issarny, France
Pooyan Jamshidi, UK
Jean-Marc Jézéquel, France
Samuel Kounev, Germany
Philippe Lalanda, France
Seok–Won Lee, South Korea
Marin Litoiu, Canada
Xiaoxing Ma, China
Martina Maggio, Sweden
Sam Malek, USA
Nenad Medvidovic, USA
Hausi Müller, Canada
Henry Muccini, Italy
John Mylopoulos, Canada
Ingrid Nunes, Brazil
Liliana Pasquale, Ireland
Patrizio Pelliccione, Sweden
Xin Peng, China
David Rosenblum, Singapore
Bradley Schmerl, USA
Hella Seebach, Germany
Amir Molzam Sharifloo, Germany
Vitor Silva Sousa, Brazil
Jan-Philipp Steghöfer, Sweden
Ladan Tahvildari, Canada
Kenji Tei, Japan
Axel van Lamsweerde, Belgium
Giuseppe Valetto, Italy
Mirko Viroli, Italy
Danny Weyns, Belgium
Yijun Yu, UK

Konstantinos Angelopoulos, University of Brighton, UK
Nuno Antunes, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Amel Bennaceur, The Open University, UK
Javier Cámara, Carnegie Mellon University, USA (Chair)
Ilias Gerostathopoulos, Technische Universität München, Germany
Mahmoud Hammad, University of California Irvine, USA
Muhammad Usman Iftikhar, Linnaeus University, Sweden
Ashutosh Pandey, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Roykrong Sukkerd, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Christos Tsigkanos, Politecnico di Milano, Italy